2020 SCGA Annual Meeting

October 28, 2020

Bob Livingstone, a member of El Dorado Park Men’s GC and Recreation Park Men’s GC, was selected and approved by his fellow board members as the new president of the Southern California Golf Association at its Annual Meeting, held virtually Wednesday morning. He succeeds Industry Hills GC member Fred MacFarlane.

“I know our staff, and I know our Board, and I know most of our volunteers, and I know that this Association is working every day to continually improve the services provided to you, our members, and to help and to promote and to administer the game of golf here in Southern California,” said Livingstone. “My promise as your President is that we will continue to be one of the – if not the – premier regional golf Association in America.”

Livingstone has extensive experience in the golf world. Until his recent retirement after years of public service, Bob served as Superintendent of Golf Operations and Contract Management for the City of Long Beach Department of Parks, Recreation and Marine. Before that, Bob coached the Long Beach State Men’s Golf team for 14 years and was named Big West Coach of the Year in 2000. Earlier he served as the SCPGA's Junior Golf Director.

He joined the SCGA Board in 2010 and has supplied his passion for the game as chair of the Board Development, Championships & Golf Operations, Hall of Fame and Strategic Planning committees, while also serving on the Governmental Affairs and Ad Hoc on Bylaws committees.

Joining Bob on the SCGA Executive Committee are Vice President Nikki Gatch, SCPGA Tour Alumni, Secretary Mike Ortega, Skylinks GC and Gauchos and Gringos as well as Treasurer Huy Dang, Griffith Park GC.

Honored at the Annual Meeting were:

Bim Jollymour, who received the Jim House Award, which recognizes the work of an exceptional SCGA volunteer. Jollymour has been a dedicated volunteer since 2002 and serves as a passionate Rules Official.

Linda Bienhoff, who is a well-established figure at the Balboa Park Women’s Golf Club, was named the winner of the Newell Pinch Delegate of the Year Award for her service to the SCGA in a variety of ways including help set up the club’s online portal to make the membership process easy for both members and non-members.

Noel Murchet, who is a long-time member of the Los Angeles City Firefighters GC since 1984, was awarded the Don Carlson Handicap Chair of the Year Award for his dedicated service as the club’s tournament director and secretary prior becoming the Handicap Chair in 1995, a position he still holds today.

Friends of Golf received the John Argue Founder’s Award, established to honor SCGA Junior Golf Foundation Founder and former SCGA President John C. Argue. The organization’s support dates back more than ten years, but most critical was their seed funding in 2015 that allowed the Foundation to launch our Player and Youth Development program. Through their support, the program, which was initially at one facility, in one community, has grown to six sites in three communities across Southern California.

Rebecca Ramirez was honored with the President’s Award, annually given to an SCGA member or member club who’s dedicated to furthering the mission of SCGA Junior Golf Foundation. Ramirez, a long-time volunteer, tirelessly works on local fundraiser projects. She most recently served as the chair of last year’s helicopter ball drop fundraiser, which raised more than $4,000 for local programming.

Torey Edwards was named the SCGA Player of the Year after an outstanding season. He kicked off the points race with a top-10 at the SCGA Four-Ball before nearly winning medalist honors at the California Amateur Championship at Torrey Pines in July. A few weeks later, he tied for fourth at the SCGA Amateur before capping the season by winning the SCGA Mid-Amateur.

Zoe Campos and Caroline Canales were both recognized as co-SCGA Women’s Player of the Year. Campos won the girls’ division of the Southern California Junior Amateur before advancing to the Round of 16 at the California Women’s Amateur and finishing sixth at the SCGA Women’s Amateur. She also earned an exemption into the U.S. Women’s Amateur, where she advanced to the Round of 32.

Canales finished sixth at the CIF/SCGA Girls SoCal High School Championship before following that up with a win at the CIF Girls State HS Championship at Poppy Hills, the only player under par that day. She advanced to the quarters of the California Women’s Amateur, earned an exemption into the U.S. Women’s Amateur and tied for fourth at the SCGA Women’s Amateur.

Craig Davis earned the SCGA Senior Player of the Year honors after kicking off the season with a tie for second at the California Senior Amateur Championship. He finished T-15 at the SCGA Senior Tournament of Club Champions, before capping another incredible year with his fourth consecutive SCGA Senior Amateur Championship. This is Davis’ second POTY honors (2018).

With the reorganization of this year’s championship calendar, one event still hangs in the balance that will determine our Senior Women’s Player of the Year. Several players still have the chance to win the Senior Women’s Player of the Year honors. Stay tuned for a champion to be crowned at the Victoria Club on Nov. 9-10.

For a full archive of the SCGA’s past award winners, please click here.