Fred MacFarlane Elected President of the SCGA

October 29, 2019


Fred MacFarlane, a member of Industry Hills GC, was elected president of the Southern California Golf Association at its Annual Meeting, held Tuesday morning at Brookside GC in Pasadena. He succeeds Lakeside GC member Chris Wilson.

“I’m honored to serve with such a collection of leaders I’m proud to call my colleagues,” said MacFarlane, upon being announced. “I look forward to our year ahead as we work together collegially – as we always have – in service of our members throughout Southern California for the betterment of amateur golf.”

MacFarlane has an extensive professional career in media relations, crisis communications, news reporting, public affairs and public service. He previously served as press secretary to Los Angeles Mayor Tom Bradley and communications director to L.A. County Supervisor Yvonne Brathwaite Burke. MacFarlane began his professional career as special assistant to California Lieutenant Governor Mervyn M. Dymally.

He joined the SCGA Board in 2009 and has supplied his progressive thinking and passion for the game as chair of its Communications and Marketing committee while also serving on its Governmental Affairs committee.

Joining the SCGA Executive Committee are Vice President Bob Livingstone of El Dorado Park GC, Secretary Nikki Gatch of Emerald Isle GC and Treasurer Mike Ortega of Skylinks GC.

Honored at the Annual Meeting were:

Bob Osborn Jr., who received the Jim House Award, which recognizes the work of an exceptional SCGA volunteer. Osborn has been a dedicated volunteer since 1993 and serves both Course Rating and Championships & Golf Operations.

Bill Fennessy who was named the winner of the Newell Pinch Delegate of the Year Award for his service to the SCGA in a variety of ways including serving on two committees. He is also the President and Tournament Director at Altadena GC and Los Amigos GC.

Ted Johnson, who is a member of three SCGA clubs: Griffith Park GC, Sepulveda Men’s Club and Knollwood GC was awarded the Don Carlson Handicap Chair of the Year Award for his dedicated service as a board member of all three clubs.

Jorge Badel, who received the Lynn Smith Award, was honored for his outstanding contributions and service to amateur golf in Southern California. The award is not given every year.

The County of Los Angeles received the John Argue Founder’s Award, established to honor SCGA Junior Golf Foundation Founder and former SCGA President John C. Argue. County of Los Angeles Department of Parks and Recreation Deputy Director Kevin Regan accepted the award on behalf of the county for their continued commitment to the Foundation’s mission.

Bill Misner was honored with the President’s Award, annually given to an SCGA member or member club who’s dedicated to furthering the mission of SCGA Junior Golf Foundation. Misner is a tireless volunteer and advocate who has run events across Southern California and is one of the Foundation’s most trusted volunteers.

William Mouw was named the SCGA Player of the Year Award after a remarkable season that has bridged his high school and college careers. He was the 2019 California Amateur Champion, reached the Round of 32 at the 2019 U.S. Junior Amateur Championship and finished T-3 at both the 2019 CIF-SCGA SoCal Boys and CIF-CGA Boys State High School Championships. He is a freshman at Pepperdine and the 18th-ranked amateur in the world.

Amari Avery was recognized as the youngest-ever SCGA Women’s Player of the Year. The 15-year-old was the 2019 California Women’s Amateur Champion, the 2019 SCGA Women’s Match Play runner-up and a semifinalist at the 2019 U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball Championship. She is one of the top-ranked juniors in Southern California.

Jeff Wilson earned the SCGA Senior Player of the Year honors after winning the 2018 California Senior Amateur Championship. He was a semifinalist at the 2019 U.S. Senior Amateur Championship, an event he won last year.

Corey Weworski was honored as the Senior Women’s Player of the Year after winning the 2019 California Senior Women’s Amateur Championship, the 2019 SCGA Women’s Four-Ball Championship and finishing third in the 2019 SCGA Senior Women’s Amateur Championship.

If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.