NEW: Membership is now 12 months! Not a Member? Click Here.

USGA, R&A announce final decision on anchored strokes

June 13, 2013

The United States Golf Association (USGA) and The R&A, golf’s governing bodies, today announced the adoption of Rule 14-1b of the Rules of Golf that prohibits anchoring the club in making a stroke. The new Rule will take effect on January 1, 2016, in accordance with the regular four-year cycle for changes to the Rules of Golf.

Rule 14-1b, which was proposed on November 28, 2012, has now been given final approval by the USGA and The R&A following an extensive review by both organizations. The decision to adopt the new Rule came after a comprehensive process in which comments and suggestions from across the golf community were collected and thoroughly considered.

The full report of the decision can be found here.

The SCGA Rules Crew breaks down Rule 14-1b and explains the ban on the anchored stroke.

The SCGA's content partner Back9Network sat down with PGA of America President Ted Bishop, who has been vocal about the proposed rule since November, to get his input on the decision.


If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


Handicap Index: 19.0
Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I love SCGA Rules Crew!