SCGA Rules Crew: Failure to Hole Out

Didn't hole out on every hole? You can kiss that course record goodbye!

Show Comments



If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


scga_staff

Handicap Index: 8.0
Friday, July 29, 2016

spadgera - In that situation, the player must replace the ball under penalty of one stroke. If player didn’t replace the ball and played from the new position, a two stroke penalty would be incurred

spadgera

Handicap Index:
Friday, July 29, 2016

If I hit a ball accidentally do I have the option of accepting the accidental hit as a hit and play the ball where it landed or do I have to return the ball to it’s original position and then hit the ball. I did not return the ball to it’s original position, should I receive a 2 stroke penally?

spadgera

Handicap Index:
Friday, July 29, 2016

If I accidentally hit my ball and it travels 30 yards do I have the option of accepting the position of the ball and treat it like a bad shot or do I have to return the ball to it’s original position and take a stroke penally? I took the accidental hit and played from there, should I have received a 2 stroke penally?

eshield

Handicap Index: 14.9
Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Is there a way to search Swing Tips on this site, for instance, if I wanted a drill to correct a steep swing

RKRider63

Handicap Index: NH
Tuesday, July 19, 2016

See it all the time in my Saturday group.

ELSONLEE

Handicap Index: NH
Thursday, July 07, 2016

Remember to never pick your ball up during stroke play

claylandlee

Handicap Index: 20.8
Thursday, July 07, 2016

Wow.

RickTJr57

Handicap Index: 8.5
Thursday, June 23, 2016

Nice reminder to hole out and know how I really putt and score!  Thank you

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 8.0
Monday, June 20, 2016

iceman6 - The player would receive a 1-stroke penalty and he would have to replace his ball on the putting green. Hopefully he and his fellow competitors remember the exact spot, but if the exact spot cannot be determined, the player would place the ball on an estimated spot as near as possible to where the ball originally was.

iceman6

Handicap Index: 12.8
Monday, June 20, 2016

I love the rules explanations and descriptions of the assessed penalties, but I need more.  E.g. under 3-2 “Finishing out a hole”; So a player fails to finish out a hole, he proceeds to the next tee and before teeing off he realizes his mistake and wants to correct it.  What action should he now take?  Does he replace his ball on the previous green and finish putting out? There must be some penalty for taking such an action.  And how does he accurately decide where to replace his ball on the green?  In doing so he could gain an unintended advantage by selecting a lie with a better putting line to the hole!