The Honors Matches

December 7-8, 2022, Journey at Pechanga

The Honors Matches are biennial team matches between the top players from the SCGA and SCPGA.

At these matches, the SCGA and SCPGA honor and celebrate an individual from each organization for their past accomplishments and dedicated service to the game of golf.

2022 Results

Team SCPGA Grabs Honors Matches Victory

Photos Results


Jeff Burda (Winner of three California Golf Association majors, 16 Northern California Golf Association majors and eight SCGA majors)

Torey Edwards ("2020 SCGA Player of the Year, 2020 SCGA Mid-Amateur champion, 2021 SCGA Amateur runner-up)

Mitchell Fedorka (Two-time individual NCAA D-III National Championship runner-up)

Robert Funk (Qualified for four U.S. Senior Open championships, Two-time SCGA Mid-Amateur champion, 2020 SCGA Senior Amateur champion)

Satchel Hermann (2015 California Amateur medalist)

Damon Krause (2019 SCGA Mid-Amateur champion, 1998 Scottsdale City champion)

Tongun Lako LoSarah (2022 SCGA Match Play champion, 2022 Nevada State Mid-Amateur champion, 2021 SCGA Public Links champion)

Bret Parker (2012 National Pro Golf Tour Player of the Year)

Jim Plotkin (Qualified for eight USGA Events, 1988 Southern California Open champion)

Scotland Schmidt (2022 SCGA Public Links champion, qualified for three U.S. Mid-Amateur championships, 2018 SCGA Foursomes champion)

Mark Strickland (Two-time Georgia mid-amateur champion, qualified for 18 USGA championships)

Dan Sullivan (2016 and 2017 U.S. Mid-Amateur semifinalist, three-time SCGA Player of the Year)

Past Winners

Year Location Winner Honorees
2022 Journey at Pechanga
SCPGA, 32-22
Kevin Heaney (SCGA), Tom Addis (SCPGA)
2018 Andalusia CC
SCPGA, 30.5-23.5
The Hardy Bros. (SCPGA), Ed Holmes (SCGA)
2016 La Quinta CC SCGA, 35-19
Pat Rielly (SCPGA), Bill Cunerty (SCGA)
2014 Indian Wells CC SCPGA, 27-18 Tom Barber (SCPGA), Jim Vernon (SCGA)
2012 Toscana CC SCGA, 33-12 Jerry Anderson (SCPGA), Tom Morgan (SCGA)
2010 Indian Wells CC SCGA, 17-13 Ron O'Connor (SCPGA), Steve Horrell (SCGA)
2008 Indian Wells CC SCGA, 23.5-12.5 Len Kennett (SCPGA), Mark Johnson (SCGA)
2007 SCGA GC SCGA, 8.5-6.5 Eddie Merrins (SCPGA), Bud Bradley (SCGA)
Commenting is not available on this page.