NEW: Membership is now 12 months! Not a Member? Click Here.

SCGA Team Play Finals

April 22, 2018 at Sandpiper GC

One of the most popular SCGA programs, SCGA Team Play began in 1900 and has grown to include more than 230 clubs and 8,000 participants each year. This competition is open only to regular member clubs maintaining at least one 18-hole golf course of at least 5,000 yards in length. Participating clubs may enter one 16-man team in a Thursday league, a Saturday league, or both, for each qualifying course they maintain. Clubs are arranged in groups of four, and their respective 16-man teams play a series of six home and away matches within their assigned group. All competition includes both single and four-ball match play. Group winners then meet in single elimination play-offs, culminating in an 18-hole championship.


2017 Finals Recap

Photos Results

After months of play and more than 100 teams in each division, Saticoy CC and Red Hill CC emerged victorious Sunday in the 2017 SCGA Team Play Finals, held at Classic Club in Palm Desert. Battling heat in the high 90s and late afternoon winds, 64 competitors ended a grueling Team Play season that began with 230 teams and nearly 8,000 individual competitors. The four teams to advance to the Finals, which also included runner-up finishers Canyon Crest CC and Los Coyotes CC, made their way through regular season action as well as playoffs to reach the finals, where they competed in both singles matches and a best ball competition before crowning the eventual champions.

In the Thursday division, Saticoy CC earned its first championship since 2006, winning by the score of 37 to 11. Leading the way was 2015 SCGA Amateur Champion Nathan Celusta, who shot a 68 on his own ball, teaming up with playing partner Brian Shim to lead their pairing to a clean sweep of all six available points. The duos of RC Jones/Roger Erickson and Joe Cervantes/Ted Bustamante also swept their available points. Canyon Crest, who was playing in its first SCGA Team Play Finals, only secured individual match points from Andrew Anderson, who shot a net 82.

"It was my first year as captain, and I was lucky enough to just have a great team," said Saticoy Captain Tony Perez. "I'm very proud of this entire team. Every single one of them is an MVP in my book."

En route to the finals, Saticoy beat out 2015 Champs The Los Angeles CC (Cardinal) in the semis, Wood Ranch in the quarters and Santa Maria CC and Spanish Hills G&CC previously.

Over in the Saturday division, Red Hill CC edged out Los Coyotes CC 29-19 to earn its first Championship since 2007. Red Hill, who beat out 2012 Champs Bear Creek in the semifinals, relied on solid play off the clubs of Wally Sinner/Mark Regus II and Kevin Roy/Ron Robbins to secure the victory. Both duos swept all six of their available points. John Mack, captain of the squad, shot the low round of the day in the Saturday division, carding a 72 off his own ball.

"It feels pretty sweet," said Mack after the conclusion of the round. "To make it to the finals is quite an accomplishment in itself, but to come out victorious against a competitive team like Los Coyotes is great. I couldn't be more proud of every single team member."

Past Winners

Year Thursday Champion Saturday Champion
2017 Saticoy CC Red Hill CC
2016 Coto de Caza G&RC
Meadowlark GC
2015 The Los Angeles CC
Industry Hills GC
2014 Red Hill CC
Saticoy CC
2013 Antelope Valley GC Fullerton
2012 Bear Creek GC Fullerton
2011 Chula Vista Links at RiverLakes Ranch
2010 El Dorado Park Glendora
2009 Alta Vista CC RiverLakes Ranch
2008 Red Hill Brookside
2007 Mission Hills Red Hill
2006 Saticoy Canyon Lake
2005 Red Hill Dove Canyon
2004 Mission Hills Meadowlark
2003 Los Angeles (Cardinal) Industry Hills
2002 Antelope Valley Silver Lakes
2001 MountainGate Hacienda
2000 Bear Creek Porter Valley
1999 Antelope Valley Victorville
1998 San Luis Rey Downs Balboa Park
1997 MountainGate Santa Barbara
1996 San Luis Rey Downs Chula Vista
1995 San Luis Rey Downs Dove Canyon
1994 Lakeside Santa Barbara
1993 MountainGate Balboa Park
1992 MountainGate Balboa Park
1991 Friendly Hills Porter Valley
1990 Rolling Hills Victoria
1989 Industry Hills Indian Hills
1988 San Luis Rey Downs Brookside
1987 Antelope Valley Santa Barbara
1986 Industry Hills Santa Ana
1985 Los Angeles (Cardinal) Friendly Hills
1984 San Luis Rey Downs Village
1983 North Ranch Los Alamitos
1982 Los Angeles (Gold) Porter Valley
1981 Los Angeles (Cardinal) Industry Hills
1980 North Ranch Porter Valley
1979 Huntington Seacliff Los Alamitos
1978 Los Angeles North Ranch
1977 Big Canyon Balboa Park
1976 Oakmont Friendly Hills
1975 Quail Lake Porter Valley
1974 Quail Lake Quail Lake
1973 Quail Lake
1972 Friendly Hills
1971 Indian Wells
1970 Indian Wells
1969 Candlewood
1968 Palos Verdes
1967 California
1966 Woodland Hills
1965 Wilshire
1964 Candlewood
1963 Crystalaire
1962 Palos Verdes
1961 Oakmont
1960 No playoffs
1959 Bel-Air
1958 Oakmont/Bel-Air (tie)
1957 San Gabriel
1956 Victoria
1955 Victoria
1954 San Diego
1953 Los Angeles
1952 Bel-Air
1951 Los Angeles
1950 Brentwood
1949 Virginia (handicap);
Mission Valley (scratch)
1948 California (handicap);
Lakeside (scratch)
1947 Lakeside
1946 Hacienda
1945 Santa Ana
1944 Riviera
1943 No matches
1942 Oakmont
1941 Oakmont
1940 Los Angeles
1939 Flintridge*
1938 Hacienda
1937 California*
1936 Oakmont
1935 California*
1934 Santa Ana
1933 California*
1932 Redlands
1931 Flintridge
1930 Rancho
1929 Los Angeles
1928 Los Angeles
1927 Rancho

If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


Handicap Index: 5.2
Monday, April 20, 2015

I sense a rivalry is in the works! Not Rory and Jordan; Red Hill and LACC!