NEW: Membership is now 12 months! Not a Member? Click Here.

Super Senior Championship

Sept. 11-12, 2018 at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

This championship is open to SCGA members who are age 65 and above and have a USGA handicap index of 10.4 or below. The championship is a 36-hole individual stroke play event, there is no qualifying as all entries are on a first come, first serve basis. For eight years this championship was incorporated into the SCGA Senior Amateur as a separate division. Starting in 2008 the Super Senior Division was removed from the Senior Amateur Championship into its own 36-hole championship.

Hotels Register

Twice as Nice


It felt like de ja vu at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, as Kemp Richardson of Laguna Niguel help on to the overnight lead to claim victory for the second straight year at the SCGA Super Senior Championship. Kemp, a two-time winner of the U.S. Senior Amateur Championship, put together rounds of 70 and 72 on the George C. Thomas and Billy Bell-designed course to capture victory in what was the 18th playing of the Championship.

Finishing in second place and one shot behind the champion was Frank Pieper of Carmel, who matched Richardson's 72 on Wednesday after an opening-round 71 to finish at 3-over par. Former California Senior Amateur Champion Jim Knoll, who held a share of the overnight lead, would card a second-round 74 and finish in third place at 4-over par. Robert Acosta of San Pedro finished at 5-over par and David Sunker at 6-over par to round out the top five.

Other notables in the field included 2015 Champion Patrick Rohan who finished T6, 2014 Champion Kenneth Knott who finished T30, 2012 Champion Ray Vanyo who finished T48 and 2013 Champion Rob Thompson who finished 65th.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2017 Kemp Richardson Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2016 Kemp Richardson
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2015 Patrick Rohan
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2014 Kenneth Knott Temecula Creek Inn Golf Resort
2013 Rob Thompson Glendora CC
2012 Ray Vanyo Soule Park GC
2011 Karl Stewart Dove Canyon CC
2010 Kenneth Forster The Country Club at Soboba Springs
2009 Stephen Schuchter Tijeras Creek Golf Club
2008 Mas Matsumoto River Couse at Alisal
2007 Robert Carver Hacienda Country Club
2006 Ray Vanyo Ranch Course at Alisal
2005 Robert Carver Pauma Valley Country Club
2004 Robert Carver Wilshire Country Club
2003 William McKechnie The Farms
2002 Bud Bradley Ranch Course at Alisal
2001 John Burri Victoria Club
2000 Bryan Conn Mesa Verde Country Club
Commenting is not available on this page.


Handicap Index: 25.1
Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Where are the NET past winners listing?  Do we only count the gross winners?


Handicap Index: 4.9
Sunday, January 05, 2014

You should put the winners names and home club as a caption in the photos.