Senior Four-Ball Championship

April 5-6, 2021, Soboba Springs GC

This Championship is open to two-person teams with each SCGA member having a Handicap Index of 7.4 or below. Players must be 55 years of age or older.


A Team For The Ages

Photos Results

The four-ball format is not new to 2019 Champions Dennis Reiland and Jim Plotkin, but nearly two decades ago they were holding a very similar set of hardware at the 2000 Four-Ball Championship.

"It's really come full circle -- [Past SCGA President] Ed Holmes was there when we won in 2000 and he's here now at the Senior Four-Ball," said Reiland.

With wonderful weather and superb conditions thanks to the grounds crew at Bakersfield, Reiland and Plotkin fired a sharp 64, and according to Reiland, it was all Plotkin's doing.

"We wouldn't be here without this guy. I dedicate my trophy and this win to Jim, definitely," Reiland said with a teary eye.

It's just so fun playing with a partner that carries you forward," Plotkin said. "And after more than 20 years of playing golf together, we jive really well."

They actually had a side-bet competition against each other to keep their mind off of the pressures of the tournament. Plotkin explained, "We actually play one dollar birdies, and guess what? I'm going home with one dollar baby!"

The final round was a different story, as players were welcomed to the first tee with 20 mph winds and sub-60 degree weather, making it really anyone's game. After nine holes, there were three teams tied for first, putting some pressure on the eventual champions. With only three birdies in total for the team, every shot was crucial to keep their place.

"Sinking that birdie putt on 11 after the massive bunker shot was a huge turn around and a motivator to keep pushing on," Plotkin said.

Walking off 18 with the sun finally peaking through and a stacked leaderboard, they patiently waited for the scores to roll in. At the end of it all, Derek Patao and Rick Saunders finished one behind at 8-under, with Casey Boyns/Jeff Britton and Mark Gardner/Paul Rice tied for third.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2019 Dennis Reiland - Jim Plotkin
Bakersfield CC
2018 Jim Knoll - Jeff Burda
Mission Viejo CC
2017 Mark Gardner - Michael Rowley
Glendora CC
2016 Mark Harding - Jim Ream
Sandpiper GC
2015 Jim Knoll - Jeff Burda
Coto De Caza
2014 Mel Collins - David Ujihara
Ojai Valley/Soule Park
2013 Iain MacDonald - Bob Valerio Dove Canyon GC
2012 Mel Collins - David Ujihara
Moorpark CC
2011 Herb Jensen-Mark Miller The River Course at the Alisal
2010 Rich Tolly-Boyd Martin Coto de Caza GRC
2009 Bill Brammer-Howie Knodt El Niguel CC
2008 Dan Pouliot-Jerry Price El Caballero CC
2007 Rich Tolly-Boyd Martin East Valley GC
2006 Jerry Hutton-Frank Merhar
Greg Aitkens-Dave Hellman (VP)
Clarke Paxton-Jim Moore (Sec)
2005 David Johnson-Steve Yavorsky
Merle Aleshire-Chuck Meyer (VP)
Tom Kreider-George Kretsinger (Sec)
Bob Frey-Steve Pastor (Tres)
2004 Steve Rhorer-Peter Daley
Ben Sanders-Pete Maccarrone (VP)
Bob Smyres-Harry Haacke (Sec)
Allan Crecelius-John Cooley (Tres)

If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.