2017 SCGA Membership
New Pricing Tiers.
New Killer Benefits.

Foursomes Championship

March 27-28, 2017 at Rustic Canyon GC

This event is open to two-person teams (partners are not required to be from the same club) with each member having a handicap index of 7.4 and below. The format is alternate shot with one player teeing off from the odd numbered holes and the partner teeing off from the even holes. The championship is a 36-hole event, there is no qualifying as all entries are on a first come, first served basis.


Celusta, Pridmore are victorious in year's first championship

Photos Results

The 2016 SCGA Championship season is officially underway and a familiar name finds itself atop the leader board at the 14th Annual Foursomes Championship at Dove Canyon GC.

Last year's SCGA Amateur Champion and Player of the Year Nathan Celusta paired with Jason Pridmore to shoot a 1-under 70 in the final round to seal a 3-shot victory.

Playing in an alternate shot format, the duo carded a first round 2-under 69 and held a 1-shot lead overnight.

On the final day, the pair came out strong with two birdies in the first six holes before stumbling and bogeying the final two holes of the front nine.

However, they were able to steady the ship, birdying No. 11 and paring the final seven holes for a slice of redemption at the Foursomes Championship, finishing with a two-day total of 3-under par.

“We had a bit of a vendetta coming into this year after falling apart down the stretch in the same event in 2015,” said Celusta, of Newbury Park. “It felt good to close the door this time around.”

Pridmore, an SCGA regular, felt the same after securing his first SCGA Championship.

“[Nathan] and I talked about revenge coming into this championship,” said Pridmore. “My second place trophy stayed in the box all of last year. I’ll put this one on the mantle though.”

Both parties of the winning duo plan to play in numerous SCGA Championships this season.

“I took three months off since I played so much last season,” said Celusta. “So you’ll start to see me more and more as the year unfolds.”

Pridmore echoed much of the same.

“It feels great to come out and win right off the bat to start the season,” said Pridmore, of Ventura. “With this momentum, I’ll be back around.”

Mark Scheibach and Scott Stevens pulled into second place with a second round 2-under 69 for a final score of even par while the combo of Sonny Nimkhum and Ryan Panichpakdee came in third place with a total of 3-over.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2016 Nathan Celusta-Jason Pridmore Dove Canyon GC
2015 Rob Foster-Jeff Fortson
Bear Creek GC
2014 Cory Gladstone-Phil Walker
Hacienda GC
2013 Brent Brockermeyer-Dick Engel Red Hill CC
2012 Mark Miller-Dan Sullivan North Ranch CC
2011 Mark Miller-Dan Sullivan La Purisima GC
2010 Kevin Marsh-Joe Sanders Glendora CC
2009 Don DuBois-Jeff Wilson Coto de Caza G&RC
2008 John Adams-Jason Bittick Rancho San Marcos GC
2007 David Bartman-Robert Funk El Niguel CC
2006 Don DuBois-Will Tipton Pala Mesa Resort
2005 Tim Hogarth-John Pate Red Hill CC
2004 Tim Hogarth-John Pate Bakersfield CC
2003 Donald O’Connor-Mark Etue Bakersfield CC

If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.