Public Links Championship

August 19 - 20, 2022, Los Serranos GC (North/South)

This Championship is open to SCGA Members with a Handicap Index of 5.4 or below who belong to a public or affiliate golf club.

This Championship is formerly the PLGA Amateur Championship, which began in 1968.


LoSarah Stays Hot To Claim Public Links Title


Five days prior, Tongun Lako LoSarah started off his week right, dropping an 8-under 62 at Redlands CC to earn himself medalist honors and qualifying for the 2021 U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship next month at Sankaty Head GC.

A last-minute entry off the waitlist, LoSarah showed no signs of slowing down Friday morning on Brookside GC’s Course #2, casually shooting a 6-under, 64 to find himself two strokes off the lead going into Saturday’s final round.

LoSarah then displayed no fear to the more difficult Course #1, graced in the presence of the Rose Bowl Stadium. Opening Saturday's final round with three straight pars, he birdied holes 4, 6, 7, 8 and 9 for a front-9 31 to take the lead from overnight leader, Brandon McDonough. Paired up together and battling in the final group, LoSarah cruised to an even-par back-9 to shoot 67, claiming the 2021 SCGA Public Links Championship.

Formerly known as the PLGA Amateur Championship, LoSarah joins a worthy list of champions, and earned himself automatic exemptions into the 2022 SCGA Amateur, Mid-Amateur, Match Play and California Amateur Championships.

Past Winners

Year Winner Venue
2021 Tongun Lako LoSarah
Brookside GC
2019 Myoung Kim
Recreation Park GC/Eldorado Park GC
2018 Brandon Gama River Ridge GC
2017 Brandon Mai
Brookside GC
2016 Nick Geyer
Brookside GC
2015 Sean Birren
Brookside GC
2014 Jeff Coburn
River Ridge GC
2013 Jeff Coburn
Brookside GC
2012 Dan Sullivan Brookside GC
2011 Tim Hogarth Brookside GC
2010 Andrew Kramer Los Serranos GC
2009 Ed Susolik La Mirada GC
2008 Dan Sullivan Brookside GC
2007 Tye Alexander Chester Washington GC
2006 Tye Alexander Chester Washington GC
2005 Keith Kinsel Brookside GC
2004 Patrick Carrigan Santa Anita GC
2003 Iain Macdonald Jurupa Hills GC
2002 Travis Johnson Skylinks GC
2001 Patrick Carrigan Los Serranos GC
2000 Michael Turner Sepulveda GC
1999 Tim Hogarth Southern Counties GC
1998 Tim Hogarth Hastings Ranch GC
1997 Ron Quick Victoria GC
1996 Michael Turner Sepulveda GC
1995 Jim Lundstrom Knollwood GC
1994 Michael Turner Sepulveda GC
1993 Michael Turner Sepulveda GC
1992 Michael Turner Sepulveda GC
1991 Robert Valerio Skylinks GC
1990 Jim Lundstrom Sepulveda GC
1989 Tony Chieffo Sepulveda GC
1988 Craig Steinberg Sepulveda GC
1987 Ray Vanyo Sepulveda GC
1986 Michael Turner Sepulveda GC
1985 Greg Bruckner Alondra Park GC
1984 Tom Stankowski Sepulveda GC
1983 Ray Vanyo Sepulveda GC
1982 Vick Wilk Sepulveda GC
1981 Corey Pavin Sepulveda GC
1980 Craig Steinberg Sepulveda GC
1979 Chuck Wallace Recreation Park GC
1978 Mike Bellmar Lakewood GC
1977 Mike Bellmar Lakewood GC
1976 Mike Bellmar Lakewood GC
1975 Roger Fagan Western GC
1974 Don Rindfleisch Recreation Park GC
1973 Gary Singer Fairmont GC
1972 Dick Mortenson Skylinks GC
1971 Tony Perrara Recreation Park GC
1970 Bob Risch Alondra Park GC
1969 Bob Henry Western GC
1968 Willard Bryan El Dorado Park GC

If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


Handicap Index: 3.7
Thursday, July 29, 2021

I need to WD from this tourney unfortunately.

Miles Calvin

I am out of town for work.