Loading...

Handicap News and Education

Tournament Formats - Should I post?

Format of Play

Post ? Yes/No

Comments

Individual Stroke

Yes

Must complete 13 holes or more (7 for 9-hole score).

Individual Match

Yes

Upon close of a match of 13 holes or more, the player has the option to take par plus any handicap strokes they are entitled to receive on each hole not completed or if play continues, follow the guidelines under the SCGA/USGA rules of handicapping. If the match is still in progress and your opponent concedes a hole, post the score you most likely would have

made on that hole without exceeding ESC.

Four-ball (Better-ball) Stroke Play

Yes

The proper name of this format is Four-Ball; however, it is commonly referred to as better-ball. By either name, you must post your score for handicapping purposes. In a stroke play format, if you are out of the hole and pick up to speed up play, put down the score you would most likely would have made, not to exceed maximum allowable under ESC. For example, if your ball were two feet from the hole lying 5, your “most likely” score would be a 6.

Four-ball(Better-ball) Match Play

Yes

Just as in match play format, you must post for handicapping purposes. If A & B are partners and A is putting for a 3 and makes it and player B has a 25 foot putt for a 4, player B should post a 5 for handicap purposes – i.e., the score most likely to have been taken for that hole – not to exceed maximum allowable under ESC.

Please Note: If in the course of a round you play 13 holes or more you must post your score utilizing par plus and handicap strokes you are entitled to receive on any hole not completed.

Foursome (Scotch)

No

In a foursome format (better known as Scotch) you will not post your scores for handicapping purposes. In this format you are not playing your own ball throughout the round

Pinehurst/Chapman

No

In the Pinehurst/Chapman format or any modification of this format, you are not playing your own ball throughout the round and therefore, you cannot post your score for handicapping purposes.

Scramble

No

Scramble formats cannot be posted for handicap purposes because you are not playing your own ball from the original spot in which the ball was hit throughout the round.

Stableford/Point-Par Points

Yes

With any type of point tournament, e.g., Stableford, Tin Whistle, etc., you must post your score for handicapping purposes. If you are out of the hole, follow the SCGA/USGA posting procedure of the score you most likely would have made, not to exceed maximum allowable under ESC.

Eclectic Event

Yes

With this event you must post all rounds for handicapping purposes. If you pick up on a hole you should follow the SCGA/USGA posting procedures of posting the score you most likely would have made on that hole not to exceed ESC. If there are any restrictions imposed by the committee such as limitation of number or types of clubs – e.g., irons- only event – the resulting score should not be posted for

handicap purposes.