CIF/SCGA SoCal Girls Regional Championship

June 15, 2021, Brookside GC (Course #2)

This Championship is open to female high school individuals and teams competing in the CIF Southern California Sections. This also serves as a qualifier into the state championship, which is conducted in Southern California every other year.

The California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) Southern California sections are comprised of the Central, Los Angeles, Southern and San Diego sections.

Championship InfoHotels

Jasmine Leovao, Troy HS Take Top Honors at 2019 CIF/SCGA Regional Champ

Photos Results

After a full season of golf and city section championships across the Southland, it all came down to the SoCal Girls Championship to see who would make it to the biggest stage in high school golf. 124 golfers teed off at 8 a.m., but only nine individuals and three teams qualified to play Poppy Hills GC next week.

At Brookside GC in Pasadena, El Camino HS sophomore Jasmine Leovao stormed from behind to take the title over Coronado’s Crista Izuzquiza in a one-hole playoff. Finishing the day at 2-under, Leovao hit her stride with four birdies on the back nine to pass a stacked top of the field.

“My dad and my coaches have helped me a lot with my mental game and them supporting me really helped me,” Leovao said.

Angelica Kusnowo of Diamond Bar HS had a hot round early on. She held a three-stroke lead after knocking in five birdies within 13 holes. Emma Tang of Chino Hills HS fired three birdies in a row on the back nine and after Kusnowo’s double bogey on No.1, all bets were off and the two were tied at 2-under.

A major shuffle of leaders began in the afternoon, with Leovao of El Camino HS shooting up to the top of the leaderboard after overcoming a double bogey on No. 9, joining Kusnowo and Tang at 2-under. It came down to the last few holes where Kusnowo and Tang dropped to 1-under, and Izuzquiza joined Leovao atop the leaderboard. Upon reaching the scoring tent, the two learned there was a playoff in their future.

Teeing off on the tenth hole to start the playoff, Leovao nearly drove the green on her drive, and after hitting her chip really heavy was left with a long birdie putt. Neither Leovao nor Izuzquiza made their birdie putts, but after Leovao sunk her par putt and Izuzquiza did not, the championship was sealed.

“I was actually extremely nervous,” Leovao said about the playoff. “I”m glad that I pulled through and made a really clutch putt to win. I’m really happy.”

On the team side, Diamond Bar H.S. held a confident 5-stroke lead all morning. It wasn’t until the back nine when defending regional champs Mater Dei H.S. (Chula Vista) climbed up the leaderboard. It wasn't long though, until Troy H.S. claimed the lead and won by four strokes. They join Mater Dei H.S. and Diamond Bar H.S. at the state championship at Poppy Hills GC.


Sherilyn Villanueva
Kamile Dimayuga
Gabriella Kano
Amy Kim
Hannah Ulibarri
Isabel Sy

Mater Dei (Chula Vista)
Mariana Garcia Rosette
Estibaly Garcia

Monteserrat Ramirez

Daniela Burgos

Ivanna Montemayor

Jessica Moreno Reyes

Diamond Bar
Angelica Kusnowo
Irene Park
Alicia Kuo
Emma Han
Esther Lee
Iris Liu


Jasmine Leovao
Crista Izuzquiza
Angela Heo
Kelly Xu
Emma Tang
Caroline Canales
Jennifer Cai
Tiffany Le
Tititia Loudtragulngam

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2019 Jasmine Leovao (Individual)
Troy High School (Team)
Brookside GC
2018 Irene Kim (Individual)
Mater Dei High School (Team)

Brookside GC
2017 Angelina Kim (Individual)
Troy High School (Team)

Canyon Crest CC
2016 Beth Lillie (Individual)
Troy High School (Team)
Arrowhead CC
2015 Mira Costa High School (Team)
2014 Diamond Bar High School (Team)
2013 Torrey Pines High School (Team)
2012 Torrey Pines High School (Team)
2011 Palm Desert High School (Team)
2010 Torrance High School (Team)
2009 Torrance High School (Team)
2008 Los Altos High School (Team)
2007 Torrance High School (Team)
2006 Torrance High School (Team)
2005 Torrance High School (Team)
2004 Wilson High School (Team)
2003 Peninsula High School (Team)
2002 Peninsula High School (Team)
2001 Torrey Pines High School (Team)
2000 Torrey Pines High School (Team)
1999 University High School (Team)
Commenting is not available on this page.