122nd Amateur Championship

July 8-11, 2021, Virginia CC

This Championship is open to SCGA members with a Handicap Index of 5.4 or below. Players must qualify or earn an exemption into the championship field.

Started in 1900, the SCGA Amateur Championship is the second longest, continuously contested amateur championship in the country. Since its inception, the SCGA Amateur has enjoyed an illustrious history of great champions, including Tiger Woods and Al Geiberger to more recent stars including Beau Hossler, Patrick Cantlay, and Sahith Theegala.

Register ExemptionsHotels

Potter Becomes Youngest-Ever SCGA Amateur Champion

Photos Results

It was a bad week to be an SCGA Amateur Championship record book. After 72 holes proved not enough to crown a victor, 16-year-old Luke Potter survived a three-hole playoff to become the youngest-ever champion in the 121-year history of the storied championship.

Beginning the final round, five shots back of overnight leader Caden Fioroni, Potter obliterated the front-nine to the tune of a ridiculous 7-under 28 to catapult himself into a tie for the lead at the turn. During the first seven holes of play, Potter had five birdies and an eagle. Fioroni, fresh off an SCGA individual round scoring record of 9-under 61 in the third round, was playing well himself with two birdies on his outward half and made the turn in a tie with Potter.On the back-nine, the putts that dropped for Potter during his blazing start began to dry up. The Arizona State commit converted par-after-par and protected his spot atop the leaderboard. A birdie at the par-5 No. 17 gave him a one-shot cushion on Fioroni, who was playing two groups behind the youngster. Potter pared the tough finishing hole, and posted 15-under in the clubhouse.

Meanwhile, Fioroni was playing steady with a birdie on the drivable par-4 No. 14 and then took a one-stroke advantage after a birdie on the mammoth par-5 No. 17. After a perfect drive on arguably the toughest finishing hole in Southern California, Fioroni took dead aim on back right pin location and landed 40 feet short, just off the putting surface. With two putts to secure the title, Fioroni sped his first putt 10 feet past and was unable to make the comebacker, forcing a three-hole aggregate playoff.

Starting on the par-3 No. 16, both players missed the green but Potter was able to get up-and-down while Fioroni suffered a bogey on the opening hole. But the Pepperdine freshman bounced back with a 15-foot twisting putt on No. 17 as Potter saw his birdie effort slide by. Standing on the final tee box all tied up, both players pumped drives to left side of the fairway, setting up perfect angles for their final approaches. Fioroni found the center of the green, while Potter left his effort 20 feet below the hole, leaving and uphill putt for birdie. Fioroni’s 30-foot effort looked great the entire way to the cup, only to see it slide just below the hole. The scene was set for Potter, and he pounced on the opportunity, draining a dramatic final putt and etching him name into Southern California golf lore.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2020 Luke Potter
Goose Creek GC
2019 Sahith Theegala
Lakeside GC
2018 Joe Fryer
La Jolla CC
2017 Sam Choi
Mission Hills CC
2016 Rico Hoey
Barona Creek GC
2015 Nathan Celusta
Oakmont CC
2014 Beau Hossler
Rancho Santa Fe GC
2013 Beau Hossler San Diego CC
2012 Bhavik Patel
Big Canyon CC
2011 Patrick Cantlay San Gabriel CC
2010 Scott Travers La Cumbre CC
2009 Austin Graham
Wilshire CC
2008 Kevin Marsh
Saticoy CC
2007 Brett Kanda
Victoria Club
2006 Scott McGihon Bakersfield CC
2005 Scott McGihon
Tijeras Creek GC
2004 Tim Hogarth
Hillcrest CC
2003 Roy Moon Torrey Pines GC
2002 Nico Bollini
El Caballero CC
2001 John Merrick
La Jolla CC
2000 Scott McGihon Rancho Santa Fe GC
1999 John Pate Industry Hills GC
1998 Greg Padilla
1997 Craig Steinberg
Lakeside GC
1996 Kevin Marsh Santa Maria CC
1995 Charlie Wi
Santa Ana CC
1994 Tiger Woods
Hacienda GC
1993 Todd Demsey
Brentwood CC
1992 Craig Steinberg
Fairbanks Ranch CC
1991 Craig Steinberg
Bel-Air CC
1990 Pat Duncan
Wilshire CC
1989 Paul Stankowski
Glendora CC
1988 Craig Steinberg
Annandale GC
1987 Greg Starkman
Braemar CC
1986 Dave Sheff
Hillcrest CC
1985 Brad Greer
Virginia CC
1984 Brad Greer
San Gabriel CC
1983 David Hobby
Santa Maria CC
1982 Mark Blakely
Stockdale CC
1981 Greg Twiggs
Stardust CC
1980 Jon (Bud) Ardell
Oakmont CC
1979 Jeff Hart
Hacienda GC
1978 Brian Gaddy
Bel-Air CC
1977 Doug Clarke
La Jolla CC
1976 Tony Sills
California CC
1975 Lee Davis
Wilshire CC
1974 Jim Porter
Brentwood CC
1973 John Richardson El Niguel CC
1972 Mark Pfeil
Hillcrest CC
1971 John Beetham
Virginia CC
1970 Gary Sanders Oakmont CC
1969 U.T. Thompson III
Hacienda GC
1968 Barry Jaeckel Lakeside GC
1967 Greg Pitzer Riviera CC
1966 John A. Jacobs Victoria Club
1965 Richard Davies Annandale GC
1964 Larry O. Brown San Gabriel GC
1963 Bruce McCormick Hillcrest CC
1962 Larry Bouchey Virginia CC
1961 Ted Richards Jr. Los Angeles CC
1960 Ben Alyea Brentwood CC
1959 Alan Geiberger Oakmont CC
1958 Frank Hixon Wilshire CC
1957 Verne Callison Lakeside GC
1956 Alan Geiberger Santa Ana CC
1955 Jerry Steelsmith Annandale GC
1954 Ted Richards Jr. San Gabriel CC
1953 Fletcher Jones Los Angeles CC
1952 John W. Dawson Hillcrest CC
1951 Jim Ferrie Virginia CC
1950 Jim Ferrie Oakmont CC
1949 Jerry Douglas Victoria Club
1948 Bruce McCormick Wilshire CC
1947 Bruce McCormick Los Angeles CC
1946 Bobby Gardner Virginia CC
1945 John Dawson San Gabriel CC
1944 John Dawson Lakeside GC
1943 Smiley Quick Hillcrest CC
1942 John Dawson Los Angeles CC
1941 Pat Abbott Oakmont CC
1940 Smiley Quick Lakeside GC
1939 Frank Hixon Annandale GC
1938 Pat Abbott California CC
1937 Jack Gaines Riviera CC
1936 Roger Kelly San Diego CC
1935 Harry Wesbrook Los Angeles CC
1934 Charles Seaver Bel-Air CC
1933 Harold Thompson Brentwood CC
1932 Jack Gaines San Gabriel CC
1931 David Martin Los Angeles CC
1930 Fay Coleman Midwick CC
1929 Gibson Dunlap Bel-Air CC
1928 Fay Coleman Midwick CC
1927 George Von Elm Lakeside GC
1926 Paul Hunter California CC/Brentwood CC
1925 George Von Elm Los Angeles CC
1924 Paul Hunter Annandale GC
1923 Willie Hunter Midwick CC
1922 George Von Elm Flintridge CC/Pasadena GC
1921 Paul Hunter Los Angeles CC
1920 E.H. Seaver Los Angeles CC
1919 Douglas Grant Los Angeles CC
1918 R.J. Cash, Jr. Los Angeles CC
1917 Windsor B. Walton Midwick CC
1916 Harold B. Lamb Los Angeles CC
1915 E.S. Armstrong Midwick CC
1914 Carleton Wright San Gabriel CC
1913 Norman Macbeth Los Angeles CC
1912 E.S. Armstrong Los Angeles CC
1911 Norman Macbeth Los Angeles CC
1910 Wm. Frederickson Annandale GC
1909 Paul Hunter Annandale GC
1908 Paul Hunter Los Angeles CC
1907 Sterling Liness Los Angeles CC
1906 Wm. Frederickson Los Angeles CC
1905 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1904 W.K. Jewett Los Angeles CC
1903 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1902 H.M. Sears Pasadena CC
1901 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1900 Charles E. Orr Los Angeles CC
Commenting is not available on this page.