Senior Match Play Championship

July 10 - 12, 2023, Goose Creek GC

This Championship is open to SCGA members with a Handicap index of 9.4 or below. Players must be 55 years of age or older. Players must qualify or earn an exemption into the championship field.

The championship format is single-elimination match play.

Registration InfoExemptions

Jeff Burda Dominates Match Play to Capture Senior Title

Photos Results

Two-time SCGA Senior Player of the Year, Jeff Burda, has captured the 2022 SCGA Senior Men’s Match Play Championship and his eighth SCGA title overall. He won the tournament at Journey at Pechanga.

Burda faced a murderer’s row of opponents over the three-day event including past SCGA champions - Craig Davis in the semifinal, and Robert Funk in the final. Despite the formidable players standing in his way, Burda made it look easier than it was, playing a full 18-hole match only once during the week. And he saved his best for last defeating Davis in the semifinal 5 & 4, and besting Funk in the final, 5 & 3.

The key to such dominant success for Burda was establishing an early, insurmountable lead. In both his semifinal and final matches, he was 5UP by the turn.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2022 Jeff Burda
Journey at Pechanga
2021 Jim Plotkin
Mission Viejo CC
2019 John Mack
La Costa Resort & Spa
2018 Craig Steinberg
Bear Creek GC
2017 Craig Davis
Sandpiper GC
2016 Craig Calkins
Coto de Caza G&RC
2015 James Camaione
Valencia CC
2014 David Delich
Red Hill CC
2013 Dan Pouliot
Annandale CC
2012 Greg Hetzer
Sandpiper GC
2011 Howie Knodt Sandpiper GC
2010 Brad Larsen Sandpiper GC
2009 Howie Knodt Sandpiper GC
2008 Boyd Martin Sandpiper GC
Commenting is not available on this page.