Senior Amateur Championship

Oct. 20-22, 2020, Red Hill CC

This event is open to members with handicap indexes of 9.4 and below and are age 55 and above. Competitors compete in 18 holes of individual stroke play qualifying in order to reach the final field of 84 players. In the Championship, players compete over 54 holes of stroke play over three days. The top 30 players and ties advance after 36 holes to the final round to determine the overall Senior Amateur Champion.

Championship Info Qualifying Info ExemptionsHotels

The Lore of Craig Davis Grows With Third Consecutive Senior Amateur Title

Photos Results

Craig Davis is forever etched in the history books, as the SCGA Senior Amateur Championship yields a three-time consecutive champion for just the second time. This achievement hasn’t been seen since John Olive’s 2001-2003 performance, but it’s no surprise that Davis has arrived to follow in Olive’s footsteps.

El Niguel CC in Laguna Niguel was no easy feat for the field of competitors. But in typical fashion, Davis started the week strong, leaving himself only a few strokes behind the leaders after first round. The title was up for grabs early, with a three-way tie for first with sharp 69’s (Jim Plotkin, Casey Boyns and Iain Macdonald.) But Tuesday truly was moving day, where under-par rounds began to fade as Davis continued to climb up the leaderboard with a steady two-day score of 70-71. With consistent play and the ability to bounce back after a rough hole, he was the only player to finish the week under-par.

"When the announced my name on the first tee that I had won two times in the row, I went on to bogey three out of the first four holes and thought, 'oh boy it's going to be a tough week,'' said Davis. "But I settled down and tried not to let things like let that get to me."

Not only was Davis the sole player to finish the championship under-par, he held the low round of the tournament, a 4-under 68 during his closing round. His secret to success seemed to be the iron play and while the playing conditions at El Niguel CC were supreme, his laser sharp approach shots gave him continuous opportunities for birdie.

"I used to not be a great ball striker but when I got a little older and didn't hit it as far, I started to hit much straighter," said Davis.

The big question though is next year's Senior Amateur. Will we see him play in 2020 for a chance to earn a fourth title?

"Oh yea, absolutely."

The top ten finishers including Davis are exempt to this year’s California Senior Amateur Championship and next year’s SCGA Senior Amateur Championship at Red Hill CC on June 9-11.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2019 Craig Davis
El Niguel CC
2018 Craig Davis
North Ranch CC
2017 Craig Davis
Hacienda GC
2016 Robert Blair
Wilshire CC
2015 Gary Vanier
Ranch Course at the Alisal
2014 Jeff Burda
Annandale GC
2013 Gary Vanier Virginia CC
2012 David Delich Pauma Valley CC
2011 Jeff Burda Victoria Club
2010 Brad Larsen Santa Ana CC
2009 Howie Knodt North Ranch CC
2008 Clark Heath Industry Hills GC
2007 Rich Tolly Hacienda CC
2006 Steve Bogan Ranch Course at The Alisal
2005 Scott Monroe Pauma Valley CC
2004 Steve Bogan Wilshire CC
2003 John Olive The Farms
2002 John Olive Ranch Course at The Alisal
2001 John Olive Victoria Club
2000 Ted Lyford Mesa Verde CC
1999 Joe Byrom Redlands CC
1998 Frank Merhar Ranch Course at The Alisal
1997 Bob Wernick Saticoy CC
1996 Ralph Rubenstein La Jolla CC
1995 Paul Ladin La Cumbre CC
1994 Ed Rieu Rolling Hills CC
1993 Ed Rieu Soboba
1992 Bud Bradley Warner Springs Ranch
1991 Bud Bradley Antelope Valley CC
1990 Jack Brogan Redlands CC
1989 Bob Pastore Ojai Valley Inn
1988 George Lombino The Club at Morningside
1987 Bob Pastore Crystalaire CC
1986 John Richardson Victoria Club
1985 Dick Runkle The Alisal
1984 Ted Richards, Jr. Arrowhead CC
1983 Alton Duhon Antelope Valley CC
1982 Dick Lytle Redlands CC
1981 Ted Richards, Jr. Las Posas CC
1980 Ted Richards, Jr. Glendora CC
1979 John Richardson Red Hill CC
1978 Ted Richards, Jr. Wilshire CC

If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


Handicap Index: 3.6
Thursday, March 21, 2019

Good day. During this event what time does it start on each day.  And on the last day what normally (with no playoff hopefully)  does the tournament end. 

Thank you.