Match Play Championship

August 3-5, 2020, El Niguel CC

The Match Play Championship began in 2008 as a means of bringing credence and incentive to the SCGA points list. The SCGA points list awards points to golfers who give strong performances in SCGA, USGA, CGA and other selected outside tournaments. This championship field consists of 32 players in single elimination match play. Up to 24 players earn automatic invitations to compete from the Exemption List. The remaining spots into the field are filled through a one day qualifier. Match Play qualifying is open to members with a Handicap index of 5.4 and below at the time of registration and must be current members of the SCGA at the time of registration.

Register ExemptionsHotels

Trip Morris Dominates SCGA Stalwart Tim Hogarth

Photos Results

Trip Morris left no doubt against three-time SCGA Player of the Year Tim Hogarth in the championship match of SCGA Match Play at La Costa Resort.

Morris, the runner-up at the SCGA Amateur Championship at his home club of Lakeside GC back in July, dominated from start to finish to win convincingly 6&4 against the future SCGA Hall of Famer. Morris won four of the first six holes to go 4up early and never looked back. With Hogarth unable to find his rhythm, it was the Long Beach State freshman who pounced on the SCGA legend to take home his first SCGA title.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2019 Trip Morris
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
2018 Joe Fryer
Bear Creek GC
2017 Jeff Wilson
Sandpiper GC
2016 Tim Hogarth
Coto de Caza G&RC
2015 Dan Erickson
Valencia CC
2014 Brett Silvernail
Red Hill CC
2013 Niall Platt Annandale CC
2012 Niall Platt Sandpiper GC
2011 Anton Arboleda Sandpiper GC
2010 Nick Delio Sandpiper GC
2009 Nick Delio Sandpiper GC
2008 Matt Hoffenberg Sandpiper GC
Commenting is not available on this page.