Four-Ball Championship

November 2-3, 2020, Dove Canyon GC

This Championship is open to members with handicap indexes of 7.4 and below. Players will compete over 18 holes of four-ball stroke play qualifying to determine the 52 teams which advance to the Championship. The Championship is conducted over 36 holes of four-ball stroke play.

RegisterExemptions Hotels

Corby Segal Defends SCGA Four-Ball Championship Title With Stephen Hale


Following 36-holes of tight fairways and slippery greens, Corby Segal and Stephen Hale needed three extra holes to capture the 2019 SCGA Four-Ball Championship title at Friendly Hills CC.

Finishing at 9-under par for the two-day championship in a tie with Eric Lindquist and Satchell Herrmann, the pair of squads that played together in the final group squared off in a sudden-death playoff.

Matching pars the first two playoff holes on 18 and 1, the former California Golden Bear, Stephen Hale, stepped up to the 2nd hole, a long par-3 measuring 191 yards uphill, before sticking his tee-shot to seven feet from the pin. He proceeded to make his birdie putt and secure the title over Lindquist and Herrmann.

“The grinding out there was magnificent,” said Segal on the sudden-death playoff. “We’re all trying to compete and we’re all grinders. This is our competitive golf and it makes it fun to grind for a little bit and get in there.”

Segal came in as the defending SCGA Four-Ball champion after winning the event with his long-time partner Tim Hogarth last year at Oakmont CC. Stepping in this year, Hale was a big help as the team came out strong in Monday’s first round with a whopping 7-under-par 63.

“It was fun, I’m glad we did it,” Hale said. “I knew if we kept going [in the playoff] the advantage is ours. I think we’re pretty experienced in that, I felt like the more shots we got the better chance we’d make birdie.”

Segal adds more hardware to his well illustrious SCGA career, while this accounts for Hale’s first career SCGA championship.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2019 Corby Segal - Stephen Hale
Friendly Hills CC
2018 Corby Segal - Tim Hogarth
Oakmont CC
2017 Cody Hall - Edwin Kuang
Bear Creek GC
2016 J.R. Warthen - Justo Warthen
La Purisima GC
2015 Bowen Osborn - Danny Wax
Glendora CC
2014 Kevin Marsh - John Pate
Saticoy CC
2013 David Bartman - Robert Funk
Mission Viejo CC
2012 Mark Manweather - Cass Traub
Hacienda GC
2011 Manav Shah - Bhavik Patel Bakersfield CC
2010 Jason Bittick-Harry Rudolph III The Farms GC
2009 George Downing-Kevin Marsh Dove Canyon CC
2008 George Downing-Kevin Marsh Red Hill CC
2007 Bryan Hogan-Tyler Hurst Industry Hills GC
2006 David Bartman-Robert Funk Oakmont CC
2005 Tucker Brown-Brad Uptgraft El Niguel CC
2004 Tucker Brown-Brad Uptgraft The SCGA GC
2003 Jeffrey Payne-Scott Crawshaw Saticoy CC
2002 Eddie Heinen-Clarke Rheney Bear Creek GC
2001 Bob Clark-Ed Cuff, Jr. PGA of So. Calif. GC
2000 Jim Plotkin-Dennis Reiland San Gabriel CC
1999 Dan Hogan-Dale Keene San Diego CC
1998 Mike Quinn-Kyle Shoren Oakmont CC
1997 Pat Duncan-Mark Johnson Rancho Santa Fe GC
1996 Craig Anderson-Bill O’Connor Saticoy CC
1995 Pat Duncan-Mark Johnson Dove Canyon CC
1994 Bob Clark-Ed Cuff, Jr. Oakmont CC
1993 Mark Gardner-Ted Lyford La Purisima GC
1992 Craig Anderson-Bill O’Connor The Farms GC
1991 Robert Gross-Steve Titus San Gabriel CC
Commenting is not available on this page.