Amateur Net Championship

Aug. 21 - 22, 2020, Los Serranos G&CC

The SCGA Amateur Net Championship gives all members an opportunity to compete in a major association championship regardless of his/her handicap index level. A total of 208 players will compete in the 36-hole championship and the field is divided into flights of different handicap levels.


The People's Championship Recap

Photos Results

Spread out among four flights, nearly 180 golfers participated in the 85th Amateur Net Championship, which concluded Apr. 9 at Industry Hills GC. The two-day event, known around the Southland as “The People’s Championship,” is the SCGA’s premier net championship, giving participants the opportunity to play a different course each day – the Babe and the Ike – at Pacific Palms Resort in Industry.

Arroyo Flight

Bunched with a three-way tie atop the leaderboard after the first round, the Arroyo Flight was up for grabs on day two. Christopher Deering (Arroyo Trabuco GC), John Ellis (Wilshire CC) and Mike Chiovare (Santa Anita GC) all slept on the 2-under lead and looked to finish the job.

Chiovare, who is a defending champion from 2006, has been dealing with health-related issues and hadn’t been on the golf course much in the past ten years. But, in the end, his determination and experience carried him to the podium, as his 1-under 71 on the difficult Ike Course was enough for the title.

“The win was overwhelming,” said Chiovare. “I haven’t been playing as well lately due to health reasons. When you’re over 50 years old, you think things are slipping away but I was able to prove to myself that I still have it.”

Mission Flight

It seemed like a two-horse race between Fernando Fernandez (Rio Hondo GC) and Lippen Lau, both of whom finished 3-under after the first round. That’s when Raymond Chang (L.A. Royal Vista GC) burst on the scene with a blistering 3-under 69 on Ike to finish tied with Adam Subido (Mission Trails GC). He would eventually win on a card-off, per USGA protocol.

“The best part about this week was coming out and playing with other people who are passionate about the game,” said Chang. “I didn’t have a single birdie today but my consistency led me to the finish line.”

Pacific Flight

Jason Bader (Temecula Creek GC) jumped out to a two-shot lead after the first round but had a handful of suitors as play began on the final round. Some might say finding yourself atop the leaderboard in the SCGA Amateur Net Championship is the most dangerous lead in the sport. Once again, this proved to be true.

Meanwhile, Henry Alipusan (Intl Alliance GC) found himself lurking two shots off the lead to begin the final day but managed to put together a solidly consistent round of even par 70. Alipusan’s total of 2-under 140 was enough to hold off a duo of Kevin Frink (Anaheim GC) and John Patino (Mountain Meadows GC) at 1-under.

“This has been a lifetime dream of mine,” said Alipusan. “I have now reached the pinnacle of my golfing career.”

San Andreas Flight

The fourth and final flight was correctly named, as an earthquake of low scores came pouring in on day one. Nicholas Martinez (El Segundo GC) fired a 9-under 63 to take a four-shot lead into the final day. Frank Anderson (Caltrans GC) finished 5-under while Broc Glover (Stadium GC) and Chad Olis (Brunswick GC) pulled in at 4-under.

But it was Anderson who proved to be the steadiest under the pressure of the Amateur Net’s final round. He didn’t record a single three-putt in two rounds at Industry Hills GC, a feat in itself.

“I honestly didn’t think I had a chance after qualifying due to the strong field,” said Anderson. “I just wanted to show up and play some golf. It’s a great feeling to come out on top.”

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2019 Mike Chiovare (Arroyo); Raymond Chang (Mission); Henry Alipusan (Pacific); Frank Anderson (San Andreas)
Industry Hills GC
2018 Brian Fortier (Arroyo); Tina Schmid (Mission); Bhupendra Bhakta (Pacific); James Marshall (San Andreas)
Industry Hills GC
2017 Kyle Fraser (Bobby Jones); Carmelo Valdivia (Jack Nicklaus); Dennis Campbell (Arnold Palmer); Donovan Koah (Ben Hogan) Industry Hills GC
2016 Jeffrey Brown (Bobby Jones); Derek Holland (Jack Nicklaus); Angelo Cofino (Arnold Palmer); Ajay Anand (Ben Hogan)
Industry Hills GC
2015 J.P. Iriart (Bobby Jones); Curtis Lew (Jack Nicklaus); Angelo Cofino (Arnold Palmer); Mike Haley (Ben Hogan) Industry Hills GC
2014 Carlos Hernandez (Bobby Jones); Bob Osborn, Jr. (Jack Nicklaus); James Kim (Arnold Palmer); Keith O'Donnell (Ben Hogan)
Industry Hills GC
2013 Chris Chen (Bobby Jones); Jimmy Tatum (Jack Nicklaus); Curtis Woolley (Arnold Palmer); Don Slayton (Ben Hogan) The Alisal
2012 William Davison (Bobby Jones); Teddy Collins (Arnold Palmer); Clifton Tucker (Ben Hogan); Joel Keily (Jack Nicklaus) Industry Hills GC
2011 Arturo Chavez (Bobby Jones); Christopher Nayve (Arnold Palmer); Ron Wrobel (Ben Hogan); Rick Cook (Jack Nicklaus) Industry Hills GC
2010 Stephen Glass (Bobby Jones); Mark Duvernay (Arnold Palmer); Fred Tooze (Ben Hogan); Mike Banducci (Jack Nicklaus) Industry Hills GC
2009 Carlos Hernandez (Bobby Jones); Ted Collins (Arnold Palmer);
Michael August (Ben Hogan); Dave Keays (Jack Nicklaus)
Industry Hills GC
2008 Michael Sheehan (President); Yu-Nin Shang (VP)
Richard Trejo (Secretary); David Heil (Treasurer)
Industry Hills GC
2007 Jeffrey Dotti (President); Rolando Ventura (Secretary)
Mark Hamilton (VP); Chris Sheppard (Treasurer)
Sycuan Resort
2006 Mike Chiovare (President); Bret McKay (VP)
Steve Tandberg (Secretary); DJ Kavanagh (Treasurer)
PGA of So. Calif. GC
2005 Randy Cumming (President); Raymond Natividad (VP)
Ankur Patel (Secretary); Marianus von Korff (Treasurer)
Steele Canyon GC
2004 Tom Roa (President); Earl Stallard (VP)
Gregory Palmer (Secretary); Todd Gross, Jeffrey Palmer (Treasurer) Landmark Golf Club
Oak Quarry GC
2003 Tom Roberson (President);
Angelo Cofino, Joe Kauanui (VP)
Robert Sperry (Secretary); Henry Yu (Treasurer)
Indian Wells Golf Resort
2002 David Greatbanks (President); Michael Reen (VP)
Ray Salberg (Secretary); Jim Bass (Treasurer)
Cypress Ridge GC
2001 Justin Dunham, Bakersfield (President); Mike Lopata (VP)
Broc Glover (Secretary); Joseph Shea (Treasurer)
Desert Princess CC
2000 Richard Beale (President); Joe Gaynor (VP)
John Petchel, Forbes Grimstad, John Evans (Secretary);
James Haffner (Treasurer)
Rams Hill CC
1999 Tom Sullivan/George Matakovich (President);
Albert Lopez (VP)
Red Hill CC
1998 Jon Tisdale (President); Rodney Walker (VP)
Randy Orton (Secretary); Douglas Joyce (Treasurer)
Indian Wells Golf Resort
1997 Gregory Hart/Gabriel Armendariz (President);
Gregory Ullery/Don Barneson (VP)
Dave Hellman (Secretary); Clyde Ahrens (Treasurer)
Bakersfield CC
1996 Harry Schneider (President); Scott Gruber (VP)
James Barber (Secretary); Jimmy Kight (Treasurer)
Desert Princess CC
1995 Dean Yoshiyama (President); Al Clement (VP)
Robert Ross (Secretary); Jim Parke (Treasurer)
Palm Valley CC
1994 Larry Stulac (President); Terry Wright (VP)
James Allen (Secretary); Dale Hanson (Treasurer)
Menifee Lakes CC
1993 Tom Pringle (President); Lance Takata (VP)
Daniel Douglas (Secretary); Don Barnes (Treasurer)
River Course at The Alisal
Commenting is not available on this page.