Affiliate Team Championship

Aug. 18-19, 2014 at Monarch Beach Golf Links

This event is open to two-person teams, with both players’ members of a SCGA Affiliate Club, and each having indexes not exceeding 24.4. The format for the event is Net Four-Ball stroke play for Round 1 and Pinehurst for Round 2. In Pinehurst each partner drives from each tee then plays the second shot with the other’s ball. After the second shot, the team chooses which ball it will use to complete the hole, hitting alternate shots. Handicap is deducted from the team score at the end of the round.

2013 Event Recap


The final round of the 26th SCGA Affiliate Team Championship concluded Tuesday at Morongo GC at Tukwet Canyon in Beaumont on what was a very warm and breezeless morning. The Curly/Schmidt designed Legends Course provided players with a unique challenge, testing all aspects of their games. After a second-straight impressive round, the team of Carmelo Valdiva and Ron Breur from Toluca Lake Men’s GC recorded a net 61 in the Pinehurst format. Coupled with their net 60 in Monday’s Four-Ball format, Valdiva and Breur’s combined score of 121 gave the duo their first SCGA Affiliate Team Championship title.

After a net 60 on day one, Jim Yeh and Jeffrey Benmoin from Roger Dunn Rancho Cucamonga came in second place with a combined score of 125. Gloribella Esquibel and Ed Pendleton, who most recently won the event in 2011, shot a combined score of 129 and took third place after a card-off.

This 36-hole Championship is one of the more unique competitions the SCGA offers, incorporating two distinctly different formats and hosting players of varying abilities. The SCGA Affiliate Team Championship is open to two-person teams, with both players being members of an SCGA Affiliate Club (not necessarily the same club), and each having active current Handicap Indexes as of the date of registration. Next year’s Championship will be held at Monarch Beach Golf Links in Dana Point.


Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2013 Taluca Lake Men's GC Morongo GC at Tukwet Canyon
2012 Hawaii Golfers of S D Barona Creek GC
2011 Burgermasters La Purisima GC
2010 Burgermasters Dove Canyon CC
2009 Burgermasters, Roger Dunn-Rancho Cucamonga (Tie) Industry Hills GC
2008 Par None, Coast Golfers (Tie) Cypress Ridge GC
2007 Roger Dunn-Rancho Cucamonga Pala Mesa Resort
2006 The Members’ Club Primm Valley GC
2005 California Air-Guard River Course at The Alisal
2004 AGA Precision Golf Bajamar Resort
2003 Oil Masters Primm Valley GC
2001 Mulligan, Ultimate, Jet Propulsion Lab Golf Clubs (Tie) The SCGA GC
2000 Golden Nugget, Hughes El Segundo (Tie) River Course at The Alisal
1999 Southland Golfers The SCGA GC
1998 IGA Mission Viejo The SCGA GC
1997 Hobo The SCGA Members’ Club
1996 Toluca Lake Rio Bravo Resort
1995 International Golfers Menifee Lakes CC
1994 Chic-A-Shay Palm Valley CC
1993 Bogey Busters Monterey CC/Palm Valley CC
1992 Mickey Mouse Golf Club Monterey CC
1991 Atom Club No. 1 (Gross)
Atom Club No. 2 (Net)
Karsten GC
1990 Golf Adventures Players Assoc. (Gross)
Atom Club No. 2 (Net)
McCormick Ranch
1989 Long Beach Firefighters (Gross)
Menorah (Net)
TPC Scottsdale
1988 Aloha Golf Club (Gross)
Babcock Golf Club (Net)
TPC Scottsdale

You must login to to leave comments.