NEW: Membership is now 12 months! Not a Member? Click Here.

Seaver Cup

Dec. 14-15, 2017 at Rancho La Quinta

The Seaver Cup was created in 1998 at the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa as a biennial competition that brings together the best players from Northern and Southern California. The intra-state competition was named in the honor of Charles Seaver, one of the most successful and legendary golfers in California amateur golf lore.

Charlie Seaver is one of two amateur to hold the NCGA, SCGA, and California Amateur titles at the same time, accomplishing this feat in 1933-34 (the other being George Von Elm who pulled out the same feat in 1925). After graduating from Stanford University, Seaver was the shining example of amateur golf in California.

Hotel Options

NCGA wins third straight Seaver Cup

Photos Results

With bragging rights, pride and a Twitter bet on the line, the NCGA dominated the SCGA at the 9th Seaver Cup, giving the Southern team its third-straight loss in the event.

The SCGA dug itself into a deep hole Thursday morning at Rancho La Quinta CC, earning just 4.5 points in the Round 1 Four-Ball matches out of the available 18. The Foursomes matches were a little kinder to the South, allowing the team to crawl two points closer with a 10-8 advantage.

Needing to mount a substantial comeback during the Friday Singles matches, the SCGA team of 12 men were unable to pull out the miracle, falling by the final score of 44-28. The overall record now leans in the NCGA's favor at 4-3-2.

With teams made up of four seniors and eight others, each player had nine possible points to earn for their team. Nick Moore of NCGA was the event's MVP, earning eight points for his team. Senior and The Los Angeles CC member John McClure did the same for the SCGA.

The Cup utilizes a format similar to the Ryder Cup– three points are available for each match, one point for the front nine, one point for the back nine and one point for the overall match (any matches that are halved earn a 1/2 point).

The Seaver Cup is a biennial competition that pits the best NCGA tournament players against the top SCGA players, and encourages year-long competition amongst tournament players, camaraderie and a friendly battle between regional golf associations.


Jason Anthony, Dale Bouguennec, Steven Chung, Matt Cohn, Terry Foreman, Randy Haag, Jim Knoll, Nick Moore, Ben Peters, Michael Tolladay, Gary Vanier, Jeff Wilson


Jeff Burda, Nathan Celusta, Joe Doody, Jeff Fortson, Tim Hogarth, James Holley, John McClure, Bowen Osborn, John Pate, Ramie Sprinkling, Dan Sullivan, Michael Turner

Past Winners

Year Winning Team Site
2015 NCGA Rancho La Quinta Country Club
2013 NCGA Rancho La Quinta Country Club
2011 NCGA La Quinta Country Club
2006 TIE Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2004 SCGA

Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

2002 NCGA

Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

2000 TIE

Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

1998 SCGA

Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


Handicap Index: 21.2
Wednesday, December 09, 2015

Go SOUTH!!!!