Amateur Championship

July 10-12, 2015 at Oakmont CC

This is the oldest championship conducted by the SCGA. Started in 1900, this event crowns the best amateur player of the Association. The event is limited to players with handicap indexes of 5.4 and below. Competitors undergo 18 holes of qualifying play in order to reach the final field of 84 players. In the Championship, players compete over 72 holes of stroke play with the top 42 and ties advancing after the first 36 holes. The championship is traditionally held at the home club of the current SCGA President.

2015 Exemptions Qualifiers Player Handbook Pairings/Results

Hossler earns back-to-back SCGA Amateur titles

Photos Results

Beau Hossler joined limited company Sunday, becoming just the eighth man to win back-to-back SCGA Amateur Championship titles. His dominant, wire-to-wire victory left him four strokes ahead of the rest of the field.

"This win is just as sweet," said Hossler. "It's nice to win, but it's especially nice to win back-to-back. I feel like I've gotten really comfortable out here, obviously in this tournament, but in California in general, where I feel like my game is stacking up pretty well to the competition."

Hossler becomes the first since Scott McGihon in 2005-2006 to win two-straight SCGA Amateur titles, and the youngest to accomplish the feat. Hossler, just 19 years of age, is a rising sophomore at the University of Texas. He will likely attempt to become the first to win three straight Championships next year at Oakmont CC, as Hossler currently has no intention of leaving school early to turn professional.

"I still have a lot to do in Austin," said Hossler. "I want to help my team win a National Championship. And I've got a lot of work to do before I'm ready to turn pro."

For now, the Mission Viejo CC member is content putting together quite a nice amateur golf resume, winning two SCGA Amateur Championship titles and earning a runner-up finish at the 2014 California Amateur Championship, all in the past year. He now hopes to carry that momentum into this summer's national events, including the 2014 U.S. Amateur Championship, which he qualified for last week in Las Vegas.

"I'm very humbled to have won a couple of these SCGA Championships," said Hossler. "I think I've set myself up well to move on and hopefully win some national tournaments now."

Hossler began the final round of play with a four-stroke lead, with 2004 Champion Tim Hogarth sitting in second place. Hossler got out to a hot start, playing the first seven holes in 3-under-par and extending his lead to six strokes at the turn.

But the win was not a forgone conclusion, as Hogarth still had a lot of fight left in him. Representing the only non-collegiate golfer in the Top 10, Hogarth, a five-time SCGA Mid-Amateur Champion, birdied holes 10, 11 and 14 to cut Hossler's lead down to three.

But like he's done so many times in the past, Hossler collected a birdie when he needed it most, draining a long putt on No. 15 to cut down his opponents rally. Hogarth gave it one last go on No. 16, taking advantage of a rare Hossler bogey, but a birdie bid hung on the lip of the hole, refusing to drop in. The putt would have put Hogarth just two strokes back.

"It's tough to do," said Hossler of playing with a big lead. "A four-shot advantage may sound like a lot, but it can go away in two quick holes. Hogarth hit it great, really put some pressure on me, so I had to stay focused and just try and beat the golf course and that's what I was able to do."

Hossler's win included rounds of 68, 68, 72 and 68 for a total of 12-under-par. Hogarth finished tied for second with Tyler Torano, a recent Loyola Marymount University graduate, who concluded the tournament with a final-round score of 5-under-par 67 that included a series of five-straight birdies. Rounding out the top 5 was San Diego State golfer Gunn Yang and UCLA's Manav Shah.

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2014 Beau Hossler Rancho Santa Fe GC
2013 Beau Hossler San Diego CC
2012 Bhavik Patel
Big Canyon CC
2011 Patrick Cantlay San Gabriel CC
2010 Scott Travers La Cumbre CC
2009 Austin Graham
Wilshire CC
2008 Kevin Marsh
Saticoy CC
2007 Brett Kanda
Victoria Club
2006 Scott McGihon Bakersfield CC
2005 Scott McGihon
Tijeras Creek GC
2004 Tim Hogarth
Hillcrest CC
2003 Roy Moon Torrey Pines GC
2002 Nico Bollini
El Caballero CC
2001 John Merrick
La Jolla CC
2000 Scott McGihon Rancho Santa Fe GC
1999 John Pate Industry Hills GC
1998 Greg Padilla
1997 Craig Steinberg
Lakeside GC
1996 Kevin Marsh Santa Maria CC
1995 Charlie Wi
Santa Ana CC
1994 Tiger Woods
Hacienda GC
1993 Todd Demsey
Brentwood CC
1992 Craig Steinberg
Fairbanks Ranch CC
1991 Craig Steinberg
Bel-Air CC
1990 Pat Duncan
Wilshire CC
1989 Paul Stankowski
Glendora CC
1988 Craig Steinberg
Annandale GC
1987 Greg Starkman
Braemar CC
1986 Dave Sheff
Hillcrest CC
1985 Brad Greer
Virginia CC
1984 Brad Greer
San Gabriel CC
1983 David Hobby
Santa Maria CC
1982 Mark Blakely
Stockdale CC
1981 Greg Twiggs
Stardust CC
1980 Jon (Bud) Ardell
Oakmont CC
1979 Jeff Hart
Hacienda GC
1978 Brian Gaddy
Bel-Air C
1977 Doug Clarke
La Jolla CC
1976 Tony Sills
California CC
1975 Lee Davis
Wilshire CC
1974 Jim Porter
Brentwood CC
1973 John Richardson El Niguel CC
1972 Mark Pfeil
Hillcrest CC
1971 John Beetham
Virginia CC
1970 Gary Sanders Oakmont CC
1969 U.T. Thompson III
Hacienda GC
1968 Barry Jaeckel Lakeside GC
1967 Greg Pitzer Riviera CC
1966 John A. Jacobs Victoria Club
1965 Richard Davies Annandale GC
1964 Larry O. Brown San Gabriel GC
1963 Bruce McCormick Hillcrest CC
1962 Larry Bouchey Virginia CC
1961 Ted Richards Jr. Los Angeles CC
1960 Ben Alyea Brentwood CC
1959 Alan Geiberger Oakmont CC
1958 Frank Hixon Wilshire CC
1957 Verne Callison Lakeside GC
1956 Alan Geiberger Santa Ana CC
1955 Jerry Steelsmith Annandale GC
1954 Ted Richards Jr. San Gabriel CC
1953 Fletcher Jones Los Angeles CC
1952 John W. Dawson Hillcrest CC
1951 Jim Ferrie Virginia CC
1950 Jim Ferrie Oakmont CC
1949 Jerry Douglas Victoria Club
1948 Bruce McCormick Wilshire CC
1947 Bruce McCormick Los Angeles CC
1946 Bobby Gardner Virginia CC
1945 John Dawson San Gabriel CC
1944 John Dawson Lakeside GC
1943 Smiley Quick Hillcrest CC
1942 John Dawson Los Angeles CC
1941 Pat Abbott Oakmont CC
1940 Smiley Quick Lakeside GC
1939 Frank Hixon Annandale GC
1938 Pat Abbott California CC
1937 Jack Gaines Riviera CC
1936 Roger Kelly San Diego CC
1935 Harry Wesbrook Los Angeles CC
1934 Charles Seaver Bel-Air CC
1933 Harold Thompson Brentwood CC
1932 Jack Gaines San Gabriel CC
1931 David Martin Los Angeles CC
1930 Fay Coleman Midwick CC
1929 Gibson Dunlap Bel-Air CC
1928 Fay Coleman Midwick CC
1927 George Von Elm Lakeside GC
1926 Paul Hunter California CC/Brentwood CC
1925 George Von Elm Los Angeles CC
1924 Paul Hunter Annandale GC
1923 Willie Hunter Midwick CC
1922 George Von Elm Flintridge CC/Pasadena GC
1921 Paul Hunter Los Angeles CC
1920 E.H. Seaver Los Angeles CC
1919 Douglas Grant Los Angeles CC
1918 R.J. Cash, Jr. Los Angeles CC
1917 Windsor B. Walton Midwick CC
1916 Harold B. Lamb Los Angeles CC
1915 E.S. Armstrong Midwick CC
1914 Carleton Wright San Gabriel CC
1913 Norman Macbeth Los Angeles CC
1912 E.S. Armstrong Los Angeles CC
1911 Norman Macbeth Los Angeles CC
1910 Wm. Frederickson Annandale GC
1909 Paul Hunter Annandale GC
1908 Paul Hunter Los Angeles CC
1907 Sterling Liness Los Angeles CC
1906 Wm. Frederickson Los Angeles CC
1905 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1904 W.K. Jewett Los Angeles CC
1903 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1902 H.M. Sears Pasadena CC
1901 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1900 Charles E. Orr Los Angeles CC

If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.