Amateur Championship

July 11-13, 2014 at Rancho Santa Fe GC

This is the oldest championship conducted by the SCGA. Started in 1900, this event crowns the best amateur player of the Association. The event is limited to players with handicap indexes of 5.4 and below. Competitors undergo 18 holes of qualifying play in order to reach the final field of 84 players. In the Championship, players compete over 72 holes of stroke play with the top 42 and ties advancing after the first 36 holes. The championship is traditionally held at the home club of the current SCGA President.

2014 Exemptions

Hossler earns 114th SCGA Amateur Championship title

Photos Results

A couple of names stand out when looking at the list of past SCGA Amateur Championship winners. Tiger Woods, Charlie Wi, John Merrick and others used the SCGA title as a jumping off point for a successful career in golf. Beau Hossler will likely do the same.

The University of Texas golfer and rising star won the 114th SCGA Amateur Championship Sunday, beating out some of the best amateur golfers in Southern California at San Diego CC. Hossler put together rounds of 70-69-71-70 for a total of 8-under par, three strokes better than San Diego State golfer Xander Schauffele, who finishes as the event’s runner-up for the second straight year.

“I’m very excited,” said Hossler. “I played well all week, got off to a rough start as I’ve mentioned before, but since then made some great adjustments and fortunately was able to come out on top.”

Beginning the final day of play with a one-stroke advantage, Hossler’s lead quickly evaporated when Schauffele birdied the par 5, second hole. This left a window open for USC golfer Stewart Hagestad, who got off to a blazing hot start, to jump into sole possession of first place despite beginning the day four strokes behind. Hagestad recorded birdies on four of his first five holes, including the tough 236-yard par 3 third hole, when he dropped his tee shot just 18 inches from the hole. He would eventually finish T3, five strokes off the lead.

In the final pairing of the day, Hossler began to rebuild his lead with back-to-back birdies on the sixth and seventh holes. Playing in front of a gallery of about 100 who followed his group all day, Hossler played bogey-free golf the rest of the way, picking up two more birdies on the 12th and 16th holes to give himself some breathing room.

“I figured it was coming down to me and Xander battling it out, but I wasn’t really sure,” said Hossler. “I try not to pay too much attention until the final few holes, but when I extended the lead to two or three shots I started to get a little more conservative, because I figured there wouldn’t be a lot of birdies on 17 and 18.”

It’s been a whirlwind two years for Hossler, who became the first high-schooler since the 1950s to qualify for consecutive U.S. Opens, including last year at The Olympic Club when he briefly held the second-round lead. He graduated high school early last December, and already has a semester of college under his belt, though this fall will be the first time he will compete collegiately.

Finishing in a tie for third and five strokes off the pace was Loyola Marymount University golfer Tyler Torano, University of Notre Dame golfer Niall Platt, 46-year-old Brookside GC member Dan Sullivan and Hagestad. The top 10 finishers earn exemptions into next year’s event, which will take place July 11-13 at Rancho Santa Fe GC.

Photos Results

Past Winners

Year Winner Site
2013 Beau Hossler San Diego CC
2012 Bhavik Patel Big Canyon CC
2011 Patrick Cantlay San Gabriel CC
2010 Scott Travers La Cumbre CC
2009 Austin Graham Wilshire CC
2008 Kevin Marsh Saticoy CC
2007 Brett Kanda Victoria Club
2006 Scott McGihon Bakersfield CC
2005 Scott McGihon Tijeras Creek GC
2004 Tim Hogarth Hillcrest CC
2003 Roy Moon Torrey Pines GC
2002 Nico Bollini El Caballero CC
2001 John Merrick La Jolla CC
2000 Scott McGihon Rancho Santa Fe GC
1999 John Pate Industry Hills GC
1998 Greg Padilla The SCGA GC
1997 Craig Steinberg Lakeside GC
1996 Kevin Marsh Santa Maria CC
1995 Charlie Wi Santa Ana CC
1994 Tiger Woods Hacienda GC
1993 Todd Demsey Brentwood CC
1992 Craig Steinberg Fairbanks Ranch CC
1991 Craig Steinberg Bel-Air CC
1990 Pat Duncan Wilshire CC
1989 Paul Stankowski Glendora CC
1988 Craig Steinberg Annandale GC
1987 Greg Starkman Braemar CC
1986 Dave Sheff Hillcrest CC
1985 Brad Greer Virginia CC
1984 Brad Greer San Gabriel CC
1983 David Hobby Santa Maria CC
1982 Mark Blakely Stockdale CC
1981 Greg Twiggs Stardust CC
1980 Jon (Bud) Ardell Oakmont CC
1979 Jeff Hart Hacienda GC
1978 Brian Gaddy Bel-Air C
1977 Doug Clarke La Jolla CC
1976 Tony Sills California CC
1975 Lee Davis Wilshire CC
1974 Jim Porter Brentwood CC
1973 John Richardson El Niguel CC
1972 Mark Pfeil Hillcrest CC
1971 John Beetham Virginia CC
1970 Gary Sanders Oakmont CC
1969 U.T. Thompson III Hacienda GC
1968 Barry Jaeckel Lakeside GC
1967 Greg Pitzer Riviera CC
1966 John A. Jacobs Victoria Club
1965 Richard Davies Annandale GC
1964 Larry O. Brown San Gabriel GC
1963 Bruce McCormick Hillcrest CC
1962 Larry Bouchey Virginia CC
1961 Ted Richards Jr. Los Angeles CC
1960 Ben Alyea Brentwood CC
1959 Alan Geiberger Oakmont CC
1958 Frank Hixon Wilshire CC
1957 Verne Callison Lakeside GC
1956 Alan Geiberger Santa Ana CC
1955 Jerry Steelsmith Annandale GC
1954 Ted Richards Jr. San Gabriel CC
1953 Fletcher Jones Los Angeles CC
1952 John W. Dawson Hillcrest CC
1951 Jim Ferrie Virginia CC
1950 Jim Ferrie Oakmont CC
1949 Jerry Douglas Victoria Club
1948 Bruce McCormick Wilshire CC
1947 Bruce McCormick Los Angeles CC
1946 Bobby Gardner Virginia CC
1945 John Dawson San Gabriel CC
1944 John Dawson Lakeside GC
1943 Smiley Quick Hillcrest CC
1942 John Dawson Los Angeles CC
1941 Pat Abbott Oakmont CC
1940 Smiley Quick Lakeside GC
1939 Frank Hixon Annandale GC
1938 Pat Abbott California CC
1937 Jack Gaines Riviera CC
1936 Roger Kelly San Diego CC
1935 Harry Wesbrook Los Angeles CC
1934 Charles Seaver Bel-Air CC
1933 Harold Thompson Brentwood CC
1932 Jack Gaines San Gabriel CC
1931 David Martin Los Angeles CC
1930 Fay Coleman Midwick CC
1929 Gibson Dunlap Bel-Air CC
1928 Fay Coleman Midwick CC
1927 George Von Elm Lakeside GC
1926 Paul Hunter California CC/Brentwood CC
1925 George Von Elm Los Angeles CC
1924 Paul Hunter Annandale GC
1923 Willie Hunter Midwick CC
1922 George Von Elm Flintridge CC/Pasadena GC
1921 Paul Hunter Los Angeles CC
1920 E.H. Seaver Los Angeles CC
1919 Douglas Grant Los Angeles CC
1918 R.J. Cash, Jr. Los Angeles CC
1917 Windsor B. Walton Midwick CC
1916 Harold B. Lamb Los Angeles CC
1915 E.S. Armstrong Midwick CC
1914 Carleton Wright San Gabriel CC
1913 Norman Macbeth Los Angeles CC
1912 E.S. Armstrong Los Angeles CC
1911 Norman Macbeth Los Angeles CC
1910 Wm. Frederickson Annandale GC
1909 Paul Hunter Annandale GC
1908 Paul Hunter Los Angeles CC
1907 Sterling Liness Los Angeles CC
1906 Wm. Frederickson Los Angeles CC
1905 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1904 W.K. Jewett Los Angeles CC
1903 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1902 H.M. Sears Pasadena CC
1901 Walter Fairbanks Los Angeles CC
1900 Charles E. Orr Los Angeles CC

You must login to to leave comments.