Jeff…good to know! I’ve been asked this question several times. But just to clarify even more…what if the ball is right behind the sprinkler head but the head is over 2 clubs away from the green.
I’m assuming he gets relief just because the head impedes the swing. but if the ball is about a foot away, not impeding the swing, does he get relief?
I had no idea about the Local rule. Good to know. Thank you
claylandlee - No. Since he is right handed and the ball is on the right side of the path in this case, the player’s nearest point of relief is to the right no closer to the hole.
So can you drop or not?
informative. gotta read the back page of those scorecards.
Etiquette tips for pace of play and not interfering with other ready golf players: Because of a disability, I’m usually the shortest hitter and always have to use a riding cart, so I’m usually first to my ball and ready to play when the group in front is clear. Even if not the case, there’s not much more annoying to me than trying to play ready golf while seeing someone walking up directly behind or in front and/or hearing their clubs clank as they walk. Tip for pace of play and everyone’s enjoyment: When walking and carrying your clubs, make sure you don’t walk in playing sight during another player’s turn and have iron head covers or can hold your clubs from rocking and clicking each other.