If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


ajwright

Handicap Index: 10.2
Friday, February 03, 2017

All SCGA members should watch this with the current conditions of So. Cal courses.  It could save some confusion!

RickTJr57

Handicap Index: 7.2
Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Glad to know my playing partner and I guessed right on this one.  Last round I faced the situation twice in bunkers.  Played ball as it lies.  Surprisingly got it out, one try each time!  Thank you

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 9.9
Tuesday, July 26, 2016

dyover - The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.

If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

b. Drop a ball behind the point where the ball lay, keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind that point the ball may be dropped; or

c. Drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole.
If the unplayable ball is in a bunker, the player may proceed under Clause a, b or c. If he elects to proceed under Clause b or c, a ball must be dropped in the bunker.
When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.

dyover

Handicap Index: 9.0
Monday, July 25, 2016

I’m told that when dropping a ball for an unplayable lie, it must be dropped within an imaginary box that goes back two club links from the tees that indicate the nearest point line.

onemorejoesmith

Handicap Index: NH
Thursday, August 20, 2015

Good stuff

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 9.9
Wednesday, July 29, 2015

tony082651 - Only if the committee adopts the local rule found in the appendix

tony082651

Handicap Index: 14.5
Monday, July 27, 2015

Can you take relief from sprinkler heads that are within two club lengths of a green in order to putt?

mrtmark

Handicap Index: 14.9
Wednesday, July 08, 2015

What happens if the dropped ball ends up back in the same hole created by the original shot?  Can you re-drop?  To prevent that situation, can you repair the hole before you drop?

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 9.9
Tuesday, July 07, 2015

Bones22 - Rule 20-2c states seven times that a ball must be re-dropped – one of those is if the ball rolls closer to the hole than the original spot.  If the ball when re-dropped rolls back to the position again, it must be placed as near as possible to the spot where it first struck a part of the course when re-dropped.

danhajjar

Handicap Index: 12.6
Tuesday, July 07, 2015

Please prepare a video showing the correct way to fix a ball mark n the green, Most people make a mess of it if they do it at all.