scgacho - It’s a 2-shot penalty. Rule referenced below for your convenience:
Pitch-Mark in Dropping Area Repaired Before Ball Dropped
Q. Through the green, a player’s ball was embedded in its own pitch-mark in a closely mown area. He lifted the ball under Rule 25-2 but, before dropping it, repaired the pitch-mark. Is such repair permissible?
A. No. The player was in breach of Rule 13-2 when he improved the area in which his ball was to be dropped by eliminating an irregularity of surface.
If the players fix the pitch mark, what is the penalty?