If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


Roughfinder

Handicap Index: 24.5
Saturday, December 31, 2016

We were just debating this last week, but we were arguing if you place the rake in the bunker or at the edge of the bunker

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 9.9
Wednesday, August 10, 2016

scgacho - There would be no penalty and the player must replace his ball.  There is no requirement to mark the position, it’s just a good idea to mark it so we know where to replace the ball.

scgacho

Handicap Index: 0.7
Tuesday, August 09, 2016

what if the player does not mark the ball and lifts the rake and the ball moves?
penalty?

claylandlee

Handicap Index: NH
Monday, July 11, 2016

Nice shot Jeff!

geffler

Handicap Index: 4.4
Friday, March 11, 2016

Good to know that, when replacing the ball, you find the nearest point where the ball won’t move.

dduran

Handicap Index: 16.3
Monday, November 30, 2015

Oh, so he’s half right I guess. He definitely could have dropped in the bunker though.

Thanks for the response

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 9.9
Monday, November 30, 2015

dduran - good question! The player could, under penalty of one stroke, declare his ball unplayable in the bunker.  The only way he could take it out of the bunker would be to proceed under the stroke and distance option of that rule.  Otherwise, the player likely wouldn’t be entitled to take relief under penalty of one stroke due to interference from a movable obstruction in a bunker (the rake).  There is a rare exception to this rule depending on the location of the rake and the player’s inability to replace the ball not nearer the hole.

dduran

Handicap Index: 16.3
Wednesday, November 25, 2015

I recently played with someone who removed the ball from a bunker after it came to rest on the rake and said he would just take a 1 stroke penalty instead of replacing the ball in the bunker.

Is this legal?

NEUGEHB@GMAIL.COM

Handicap Index: 8.5
Thursday, November 19, 2015

Did not know that.

mercermacp

Handicap Index: 18.7
Sunday, August 16, 2015

In 2011, you had a video of a ball resting on a rake inside a bunker.  Once the rake was removed, the ball was on a steep slope and would roll closer to the hole.  A drop out of the bunker was required.  Do you still have this video available and, if so, could you please send it to me.  Thanks, Mercer
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)