Ha ha ha!
happened in my first tournament!
thanks for explaining the provisional ball rule.
bobsgolf - There will be no penalty assessed as shown in rule 16-1e.
16-1e. Standing Astride or on Line of Putt
The player must not make a stroke on the putting green from a stance astride, or with either foot touching, the line of putt or an extension of that line behind the ball.
Exception: There is no penalty if the stance is inadvertently taken on or astride the line of putt (or an extension of that line behind the ball) or is taken to avoid standing on another player’s line of putt or prospective line of putt.
In putting, example: my first stroke went about a foot pass the cup, can I reach across the cup and tap it in with changing my stance position. Please send the rule number with your answer.
Thank you, Bob
I would have liked more info, like taking a second shot until you reach/find your original ball.