Know The Rules: The Embedded Ball

The SCGA breaks down Rule 25-2. Do you know how to handle an embedded ball?


If your username is set as your email address, it will appear as your name when the comment is posted.


scga_staff

Handicap Index: 6.9
Tuesday, July 07, 2015

Bones22 - Rule 20-2c states seven times that a ball must be re-dropped – one of those is if the ball rolls closer to the hole than the original spot.  If the ball when re-dropped rolls back to the position again, it must be placed as near as possible to the spot where it first struck a part of the course when re-dropped.

danhajjar

Handicap Index: 12.6
Tuesday, July 07, 2015

Please prepare a video showing the correct way to fix a ball mark n the green, Most people make a mess of it if they do it at all.

Bones22

Handicap Index: NH
Monday, July 06, 2015

What if the ball lands then rolls closer to the hole?  Is this okay?

limo

Handicap Index: 22.2
Monday, July 06, 2015

Good information. Didn’t realize you get relief from an embeded ball in the rough.

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 6.9
Monday, July 06, 2015

rlmwa1974 - Under Rule 14-4, if a player strikes the ball more than once, the stroke counts and the player must add a penalty stroke.  This is the case regardless of the number of times the ball is struck (triple hit, etc.).  The ball is then played as it lies.

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 6.9
Monday, July 06, 2015

Bigchez44 - Yes, through the green includes the rough (as displayed in the video).  Through the green is the whole area of the course except all hazards and the teeing ground and the putting green of the hole being played.

ocliatt

Handicap Index: 21.3
Monday, July 06, 2015

Good info..

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 6.9
Monday, July 06, 2015

back2back51 - Rule 20-2c states that a dropped ball must be re-dropped, without penalty, if it rolls back into the pitch-mark from which it was lifted under Rule 25-2.

Bigchez44

Handicap Index: 11.7
Monday, July 06, 2015

What about an embedded ball in an unmarked soft/wet area 20ft short of the green and not in a “fairway”?  We had this the other day where my partners ball was completely embedded (below the surface) -15ft short of the green on a par 3.  Does “Through the green” include fairway and or rough?

back2back51

Handicap Index: 18.1
Monday, July 06, 2015

What if your dropped ball lands or rolls into its own pitch mark?  Re-drop or play it as it lies?