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Handicap
There’s a lot more to a Handicap Index than just 
posting a score. Test your handicap knowledge to 
see how savvy your skills are.

scores
1.	For every set of tees at a 

golf course, a player could 
potentially have a different 
Course Handicap, depending 
upon the Slope Ratings.

	 Yes _____ No _____

2. 	Jeff and Alysa are playing 
a match against each other. 
The 17th hole is a 470-yard 
par 4 for men and a 450-yard 
par 5 for women. There are 
no handicap strokes given to 
either player. Both Jeff and 
Alysa score their respective 
par for the hole. Who wins 
the hole?

a) Jeff, because he played the hole 
with a longer yardage.

b) Jeff, because his score is better 
than Alysa’s.

c) Alysa, because she played the 
hole with a higher par.

d) Alysa and Jeff halve the hole 
because they both parred the 
hole.

3. How often should a player 
shoot to his handicap?

a) 20-25 percent of the time.
b) 26-50 percent of the time.
c) More than 50 percent of the 

time.
d) Every time, because the handi-

cap is the player’s average.

4. 	Are scores made while using 
a Distance Measuring Device 
(DMD) acceptable for handi-
cap purposes?

a) Yes. As long as the DMD 
measures distance only, the 
score is acceptable for handi-
cap purposes, regardless if the 
Committee has established a 
local rule allowing the use of 
DMDs.

b) Yes, provided the DMD mea-
sures variables such as eleva-
tion, wind speed and gradient.

c) No, because the Commit-
tee does not allow the use of 
DMDs, and therefore scores 
cannot be returned for handi-
cap purposes.

d) No. DMDs are not available 
to all players, since they are 
not located on the golf cart

5. 	What is the minimum number 
of 18-hole scores it takes to 
establish an 18-hole Handi-
cap Index?

a)	1       b) 5       c) 10       d) 20

6. 	A player wishes to play an 
18-hole round. Before the 
player can start the 14th 
hole, however, darkness sets 
in and the player is unable to 
finish the round. Is the player 
required to post the score?

a) 	Yes, as an 18-hole score, while 
taking par on holes 14 through 
18, which were not played.

b)	Yes, as a nine-hole score, because 
all 18 holes were not played.

c)	Yes, as an 18-hole score after she 
finishes her round the next day.

d)	Yes, as an 18-hole score, taking 
par plus any handicap strokes 
on holes 14 through 18, which 
were not played.

7. Geri failed to sign her score-
card for the Club Champion-
ship. Does she still have an 
acceptable score for handi-
cap posting purposes even 
though she was disqualified 
from the event?

	 Yes _____ No _____ 
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