Unfortunately, not all of our golf shots go where we’d like them to go. Sometimes, they end up in a less-than-desirable position where it’s important to know the rules.
SCGA Rules Crew member Jeff Ninnerman stops by to explain the ever-confusing Decision 25-2/0.5: When Ball is Embedded in Ground.
With Jeff’s in-depth explanation, you’ll never make a costly mistake on the course again – if you’re paying attention!
Remember: A ball is deemed to be embedded in the ground only if:
The impact of the ball landing has created a pitch-mark in the ground,
The ball is in its own pitch-mark, and
Part of the ball is below the level of the ground.
Provided that these three requirements are met, a ball does not necessarily have to touch the soil to be considered embedded (e.g., grass, loose impediments or the like may intervene between the ball and soil). Any doubt as to whether a ball is embedded should be resolved against the player.